Vernice Quebodeaux Prize

Vernice Quebodeaux “Pathways”
Poetry Prize for Women

Little Red Tree Publishing is proud to launch the 11th Vernice Quebodeaux “Pathways” Poetry Prize for Women, which includes a $1000 cash award and offer to publish a full-length collection of poetry with a generous royalty contract. The book will be published sometime in 2022/3.

Vernice Quebodeaux, born in Egan, LA (on the banks of the Bayou Plaquemine Brûlé), was a poet who spent a lifetime struggling with the demands of raising children, family feuds, bigotry, apathy, and indifference to her writing aspirations. On her death, the beginnings of a book of poetry called “Pathways” was found by her daughter Tamara Martin and incorporated into a book, Sundays in the South. We are honoring her life and cherished goals by creating this competition to recognize the specific unique voices of women poets.

** Manuscript submission is free.

** The competition is open to women from any country but the submission must be in English.

** Submissions can only be accepted via email with the date of transmission no later than December 31, 2022.

** The full-length manuscripts will be 80 to 100 letter-size pages of poetry or more, with each poem starting on a separate page.

** The majority of the manuscript should be previously unpublished. However, between 10 and 15 pages of poetry may have appeared in print or online locations, but the poet must hold the exclusive rights to publish.

** Manuscripts should be typed in 12 point Times Roman or Arial, one poem per page. A contents page and pagination are necessary for review purposes.

** Two copies of the title page should be included. The first should include the title, and all contact information, including name, address, email address, and phone number. The second should only list the working title of the manuscript.

** Simultaneous submissions are permitted; however, Little Red Tree Publishing should be notified immediately if a manuscript is accepted elsewhere.


Previous winners:

2011: Diana Woodcock – Standing on the Elephant’s Shoulders.

2012: Ann Lauinger – Against Butterflies

2013: Suzanne Ondrus – Passion Seeds

2014: Cathleen Calbert  – The Afflicted Girls

2015: No Award

2016: No Award

2017: Celia Drill – Awake Through Dreams

2018: No Award

2019: No Award

2020: Covid… and so much more!

2021: TBA